PM chaired a meeting to review various aspects of implementation of National Action Plan (NAP) at Prime Minister’s House

August 11, 2016

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif chaired a meeting to review various aspects of implementation of National Action Plan (NAP) at Prime Minister’s House, today.


The meeting reaffirmed the national resolve to eliminate terrorism and extremism from everywhere in Pakistan.  Restoration of complete peace and tranquility shall remain the top priority of the Government and all the state institutions, the meeting resolved.  It was stressed that intelligence agencies perform a vital role in guaranteeing national security and safeguarding national interest for which they will be provided all necessary resources and support.


The meeting took a strategic review of regional and internal security situation and in that context also focused of the latest trends of activities of hostile intelligence agencies to destabilize Pakistan.  The participants agreed to scale up the existing efforts to neutralize hostile elements through a coordinated and focused effort.


It was agreed to establish a high level task force to monitor the progress of implementation of National Action Plan.  The Task Force will comprise of  senior representatives of all concerned departments and agencies of the Federal Government and the Provinces.  The Prime Minister directed that no effort be spared to ensure complete and effective implementation of the plan.  He stressed the need to take result oriented and time bound action, with a view to completely eliminate and eradicate the menace of terrorism from the soil of Pakistan.


The meeting was attended by:

Mr. Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Minister for Finance

Ch. Nisar Ali Khan, Minister for Interior

General Raheel Sharif, Chief of Army Staff

Mr. Sartaj Aziz, Advisor to PM on Foreign Affairs

Mr. Tariq Fatemi, SAPM on Foreign Affairs

Lt Gen (R) Nasser Khan Janjua, NSA

Lt Gen Rizwan Akhtar, DG ISI

Mr. Aizaz Ahmad Ch. Foreign Secretary

Mr. Aftab Sultan, DG IB

Maj Gen Muhammad Humayun Saleem DG(C)

Maj Gen Tariq Qaddus, DG (CT)

Maj Gen Nadeem Zaki Manj, DG MI

Maj Gen Sahir Shamshad Mirza, DG MO