Government is capable to rescue and rehabilitee those affected by the earthquake: PM

October 27, 2015

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif chaired a high level meeting at PM House this noon on the damages and measures taken after the earthquake hit different parts of the country.

The Prime Minister said that the Government is capable enough to rescue and rehabilitate those affected by the earthquake and every effort will be made to help the fellow citizens in distress. The Prime Minister said that the state resources will be fully utilised and provided to assist the provincial governments in rescue, relief and rehabilitation of the affected people.

The Prime Minister said that the Government would announce a relief package for the affectess of the earthquake after comprehensive assessment reports by the concerned authorities. The Prime Minister added that the Federal Government will provide all possible assistance and support to the adversely affected province of KPK and FATA.

The Prime Minister applauded the efforts and quick responses by Pakistan Army, National Highways Authority, National Disaster Management Authority and Provincial Disaster Management Authorities in the aftermath of the natural calamity.

The Prime Minister was briefed by chairman NDMA and DG MO on the damages caused by the earthquake. The prime Minister was briefed that NHA has cleared all the vital roads and is effectively working to clear the remaining roads. SUPARCO is providing pre and post imagery of the earthquake affected areas to the concerned authorities for carrying out rescue work. NDMA has deputed six search and rescue teams so far.

The Prime Minister was briefed that telecommunication networks and vital installations of WAPDA remained unaffected. The Prime Minister was briefed that 228 precious lives were lost while 1620 people injured and 3320 houses damaged by the earthquake.

The meeting was attended by Mr Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Minister for Finance, Ch Nisar Ali Khan, Minister for Interior, Mr Pervaiz Rashid, Minister for Information, Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan, Governor KPK, General Raheel Sharif, COAS, Lt Gen Asim Saleem Bajwa, DG ISPR, Maj Gen Sahir Shamshad Mirza, DG MO, Maj Gen Asghar Nawaz, Chairman NDMA, Raja Hassan Abbas, Secretary Cabinet, Mr Arif Ahmad Khan, Secretary Climate Change, Mr Fawad Hasan Fawad, ASPM, Mr Shahid Ashraf Tarar, Chairman NHA and and other senior officials of the government.