Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif chaired a high level meeting of Cabinet Committee on Energy at PM House

October 14, 2015

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif chaired a high level meeting of Cabinet Committee on Energy at PM House Islamabad to review progress of energy sector projects.

The Prime Minister was briefed on the status of various energy sector projects, especially projects earmarked under the umbrella of China Pakistan Economic Corridor. The Prime Minister was informed that apart from speedy work on the energy related projects, work on establishing transmission lines is also underway so that energy could be effectively evacuated upon the completion of these projects. Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Resources briefed the Prime Minister on import and subsequent provision of LNG to power sector.

The Prime Minister directed for maintaining an enhanced inter-ministerial coordination for early completion of the projects. ‘Transparency and adherence to relevant laws and rules must be given topmost priority in all these projects’, stressed the Prime Minister.

‘China is a great friend and has tremendously justified the time tested friendship by heavily investing in Pakistan, especially in energy related projects, which would certainly resolve the most important issue of energy deficiency in the country’, said the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister said that the initiatives undertaken by the present Government would not only overcome the shortage of energy in the country, but will produce surplus energy in the times to come. Expressing confidence on the progress made on energy projects, the Prime Minister directed that quality and standard must not be comprised at any cost.

The meeting was attended by Mr. Muhammad Ishaq Dar Minister for Finance, Mr. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Minister for Petroleum & Natural Resources, Mr. Ahsan Iqbal Minister for Planning & Development, Mr. Khawaja Muhammad Asif Minister for Water & Power, Mr. Tariq Fatemi Special Assistant to PM, Dr. Waqar Masood Khan Secretary Finance Division, Mr. Arshad Mirza Secretary Petroleum & Natural Resources Division, Mr. Muhammad Younus Dhaga Secretary Water & Power Division and senior officers of PM Office.