PM had a meeting with Parliamentary Heads of the National Assembly and Senate at the Parliament House

July 29, 2015

Islamabad: 29th July, 2015

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif had a meeting with Parliamentary Heads of the National Assembly and Senate at the Parliament House today.

The Prime Minister thanked Parliamentary leadership of the country for showing resolve and remaining steadfast for the supremacy of Constitution and Democracy.

The Prime Minister said that nation has moved forward in its democratic journey and the unity of the political leadership to safeguard national interest would be a significant factor in the evolution of political process.

The Prime Minister said that the political leadership of the country has great responsibility to work for the collective good of the country while pursuing their respective party policies.

The Parliamentary Heads congratulated the Prime Minister for showing political magnanimity after issuance of report of the Inquiry Commission and termed findings of the inquiry commission success of the democratic process.

The meeting deliberated over the motions moved by JUI (F) and MQM against the MNAs of PTI. Most of the parliamentary heads excluding JUI (F) and MQM expressed their opinion in favour of withdrawal of motions against the PTI MNAs.

The Prime Minister advised Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman and representatives of MQM to review their stand on the motions and requested them to withdraw the motions.

The Prime Minister further elaborated that after the report of inquiry commission government is fully focusing on the development and prosperity of the country and is committed to resolve the problems of people.

The Prime Minister expressed that he is very hopeful that the national political leadership would leave behind the bitter experiences of our past history and embark upon new beginning with the passion of strengthening democracy.

The leaders of JUI(F) and MQM in their response apprised the Prime Minister that they will come back after consultation with their party leadership and will communicate the party policy about motions against PTI.

The Prime Minister constituted a four member committee comprising Federal Minister for Finance, Mr. Ishaq Dar; Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Senator Pervez Rashid; Federal Minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafique and SAPM on National Affairs Mr. Irfan Siddique.

The Prime Minister directed the committee to contact the leadership of JUI (F) and MQM to convince them to withdraw their motions against PTI MNAs.

Federal Minister for Finance, Mr Ishaq Dar; Federal Minister  for water and Power, Khawaja Muhammad Asif; Federal Minister  for Information and Broadcasting, Senator Pervez Rashid; Federal Minister  for Railways, Khawaja Saad Rafique; Minister of State for IT, Ms. Anusha Rehman; SAPM on National Affairs, Mr Irfan Siddiqui; SAPM on Political Affairs, Dr. Asif Kirmani attended the meeting from Government side. Parliamentary Heads and representatives of political parties included Leader of the Opposition, Syed Khurshid Shah; Maulana Fazl ur Rehman (JUIF); Senator Siraj ul Haq (Amir JI); Mr Abdul Rashid Godil ( MQM); Mr. Khalid Maqbool (MQM); Kanwar Navid Jamil (MQM); Senator Mushahid Hussain ( PMLQ); Haji Ghulam Ahmed Bilour (ANP); Mr. Muhammad Ijaz ul Haq (PMLZ); Dr. Gazi Gulab Jamal (FATA); Mehmood Khan Achackzai (PKMAP); Ghous buksh Mehr (PMLF).