Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif chaired 4th meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Energy

December 09, 2014

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif chaired 4th meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Energy here today, which reviewed the implementation status of ongoing projects as well as the status of receivables and circular debt.

The meeting was informed that during the last one month due to better management Ministry of Water and Power has saved Rs. 27 billion in power sector which will be helpful in giving relief to the consumers in near future.

The Prime Minister said that Inshallah we will progressively reduce load shedding through more generation and better management.

The Prime Minister was also briefed that the Qatari government has given a very encouraging response to Pakistan’s request for LNG and Qatari companies are also interested and willing to invest in pipelines and gas-based power plants.

The meeting decided that GENCOs and furnace oil based IPPs would be replaced by efficient gas-based or coal-based plants. It was also agreed that there will be diversification of fuel to avoid dependence on one fuel.

On the report of Alternate Energy Board regarding low manufacturing capacity of solar panels in Pakistan and recommendations of the Committee headed by Mr. Ishaq Dar the Prime Minister approved duty free import of solar systems/ panels in the private sector. Necessary instructions have been issued by FBR to all customs collectorates.

Federal Minister for Finance, Mr. Ishaq Dar; Chief Minister Punjab, Mr. Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif; Federal Minister for Petroleum, Mr. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi; Federal Minister for Planning, Mr. Ahsan Iqbal; Federal Minister for Railways, Khawaja Saad Rafique; Federal Minister for Water and Power, Khawaja Mohammad Asif; Minister of State for Petroleum, Jam Kamal Khan; Minister of State for Water and Power, Mr. Abid Sher Ali; Advisor to PM on National Security, Mr. Sartaj Aziz and Special Assistant to PM on Foreign Affairs, Mr. Tariq Fatemi attended the meeting along with other senior government officials.